Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Feeling dupped

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Feeling dupped

Ok so i was casually looking at houses and came across a builder doing closeout pricing on current inventory spec homes. Found a house i liked originally listed at 328k but they were offering the house at 295k if i could close in 45 days and use their preferred lender. Got a preapproval and rate quote at 3.62 and started the process. Fast fwd 3 wks. We couldnt lock at 45 days without some crazy fee then i was out of country. Back now and the rate is now 3.86. So not too happy about that rate increase. TOday i get appraisal back and house has appraised at 307k. No where near the 328-330k they told me the house was worth. Is it normal for the appraisal to be this low in a new neighborhood? I am feeling very conflicted.
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Feeling dupped

I'm not an expert but if it was a closout it means it wasn't able to sell at the original price. In that case, the appraisal makes sense. If you like the house and the area, don't get too caught up in the lower appraisal. 

Message 2 of 6
ArmyWifeMBA
Valued Member

I agree.  After all, you are still purchasing at a cost less than the appraised value.  Not sure what the problem is here. There is still room for the value to increase over the years as long as there are other homes being built in the area.  By the way, before going into a contract on my house, I spoke with an area appraiser to better understand the neighborhood and how they appraise property, what features increases in value, and what most buyers are looking for.

Hope you were able to get the home, if you like it. 

Good luck.

Message 3 of 6
Xistaben2
New Contributor