Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First Time Buyer needs info

tag
NCRebuilding
Established Member

First Time Buyer needs info

My wife and I are looking to buy our first home. I'm just starting to learn about the process and requrements. I would like to get an FHA loan, but I have some questions about the requirements. I will provide some background info first.

My wife doesn't work (outside the home), and her credit is bad. Can I apply for the loan in my name only?

Income: My income is $88k per year, and I expect at least a 10% increase in the next 6 months. It's about an 80% certainty.

Debt: Total debt is about $19k. About 99% of that is car loans.

Scores: currently 603 TU, 586 EQ, ?? EX But I am working on these and they are going up about 10to 20 pts a month. I expect to see a big jump soon when I get a couple CA's off

House: In this area, a $250,000 house s very nice. So we are looking at something in the $200k to $250k range

My questions are around the FHA requirements. I expect to have scores in the mid 600's (or better) by December, when we are looking to buy. In the requirements I've read it says that you have to have perfect credit since Bankruptcy. We filed back in 2003. Since then we have had some lates. In the past two years I have doubled my income. I can come up with the 3.5% or even a little more.

I've been employed for the past 2 years with the same company with increasing income. It is a stable job in a good industry. My biggest concern is lates in the past year. Since I've become more informed about credit scores and the industry, I've remained current, but I do have some lates that are about 6 months old.

How badly will this hurt me? Do I need to put off buying a house for another year? Everything that was discharged in the bankruptcy will drop off in December. I'm not sure if that will give my scores a bump, but it will make the report look a little better. Any help/advice is appreciated.

Thanks!

Message 1 of 4