LittleBlue

First Time Home Buyer FHA Preapproval

Newbie here, looking for some advice.  I would be a first time home buyer.  My credit is not so great (a couple bad credit cards and medical bills).  Score is 600.   Can I qualify for an FHA loan, and where should I try to get a preapproval?  Are there certain banks or places that are more lenient than others? 

P.S.  I make about $30k per year, but I only need to qualify for $90,000-$110,000

THANKSSSSSS!!! 

Established Member
dzemboc77

Re: First Time Home Buyer FHA Preapproval

Kind of hard to say. I went FHA and had bad credit so can relate to my experience.

How old is your baddies ? I have not missed a payment or had any new collections ect for over 4 years. Most are 5-6 years old.

For your score they will take the middle score of all 3 so you might want to get a pull to give you an idea where your at. Also the scores they get and what you get are diffrent so if you are saying you have a 600, it might end up being a 580 or it could be a 620 depending on what they pull.

There are a lot of other factors like needing to be employed in the same field for 2+ years.

How much money do you have to put down ?? You will more then likely need to settle all your bad debt prior to getting your loan. I was pre-apporved with 1 credit card still in collections but had settled all my others prior knowing this. I had 1 $80 medical bill that I did not have to pay but that was it.

Closing will cost you your 3.5% down, 1 year of taxes, 1 year of insurance plus title fees, attorney fees ect. Im bringing 13k to closing.