Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First Time Home Buyer FHA

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

First Time Home Buyer FHA

Hey guys, I am new at this, so hang in there with me. My husband and I are currently in the process of buying our first home. We were pre-approved by our lender last week and we now have a home under contract that we are supposed to close on in May. My middle score is 667 and my husband's is 790. I have had accounts in collections, but all of them are paid and the last one was paid in May 2016 and the one before that was 2014. So I have no negatives on my report currently and all of my credit cards have 0 balances and are current. My car note and another loan i have is current and i have never been late. I refinanced my car last year to get a better interest rate. His credit history is pristine. I am nervous about the underwriting part as this is our first home and I have heard the horror stories. We have more than enough money saved for closing and downpayment, our DTI ratio is not high, just below 31% for me, not sure for him at this time, but I have unreimbursed employee expenses on my taxes that is $3500 for 2015 and $1250 for 2016. I know they take that away from your gross income. Although it isn't alot, should i be worried? We were pre approved for $220k, but the house we have under contract was settled at $197k. My husband's taxes is as simple as it can get with no extra's, except he took care of his nephew last year and had him as a dependent. We have no overdrafts on our bank statements, no deposits that we don't have a valid explantion for, steady employment at the same job for 6 years for me and 12 years for him. I worked on my credit for about 3 years to get everything paid for so that it could increase. I have been late on a car i once had and a loan, but all of that was back in 2014 and is now paid for. Should i be worried? Any advice is appreciated.

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable