Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First Time Homebuyer in this Crazy Housing Market

tag
NewbieReed
Frequent Contributor

First Time Homebuyer in this Crazy Housing Market

Ok, I am new to this side of the forums as DH and I just started really considering buying our first home - YAY! But on a scary note, we are looking to buy in one of the most expensive markets in the US -- Greater Boston. I am really concerned about the cost of this..... And now I'd like some advice. Thank you for your help! 

Quick Stats:

• Credit - My middle scores: 680. DH's middle score: 667.   
  • Income- My salary is 50K.  Ive been in the industry for 4 years though. DH started his current job in August 2012 too - he is hourly and it rounds out to 18K/yr.  He's been in the industry for 5 yrs.  But according to our taxes from last year and the ones that will be filed this year, our combined income is ~ 55K.  So I am guessing that if we buy in the next 11 months, those are the numbers that the lenders will be basing this off of, right? Or can I get a letter from my "semi-new" employer that states my gross salary is 50K. Does that matter? Will it help? will it determine anything? 
  • Source of income - FT &PT Employment.
  • Monthly debt payments - $386 car payment, $150 in student loans, and $100 in past due debt payments (NOT on our CRs or reported in anyway)
  • Employment- I have a college degree; DH doesn't. info on our employment is above.  We both work full-time. And we work PT as independent contractors 
  • Assets/Reserves.  About $5K saved that we are willing to pay out. $2K in a CD.  
  • Location.  Boston, MA
  • Property- Single family house, condo, or townhome.
  • Value.   $150-$250K though more likely to be between 150-200. 
  • Occupancy.  Primary residence
  • Transaction Type. Purchase