Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First time HB!! DCU/ NAVY? thoughts and questions

tag
pizza1
Community Leader
Super Contributor

First time HB!! DCU/ NAVY? thoughts and questions

Hi everyone, Im completely at a loss and looking for some advice and help please.  Ive never owned a home, and looking to buy in 2 years ( trying to save for at least 5% down). In two years when Im ready Ill have no inquires, (im waiting for everything to age off as well), and hopefully my middle score will be 680 by then.

First...How are home loans and the process with DCU or NAVY? Anyone have experience?

Next...(the low down)

BK7 discharged 08/2013

have rebuilt credit with car loan and cards nicely

my util will be 1% at time of apping

im single, no kids, salary is $60k

Is there any programs that offer no money down and/or closing costs assistance?  Im also a nurse, what about any money assistance towards a 1st time home buyer in the medical field?

The reason I asked about DCU and Navy, is Ive got a good relationship with Navy....Ive got a CC, LOC, and my car loan with them.

Im just a member with DCU with a small amount in checking and savings for the fico score Smiley Wink

I thought with my BK on my reports, that a regular bank wouldnt look at me, but a credit union that Ive got a relationship with would.

Thoughts are appreciated, and thank you!!Smiley Happy

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Revelate
Moderator Emeritus

Re: First time HB!! DCU/ NAVY? thoughts and questions

I haven't gone through the process yet, but relationships mean very little for mortgages unlike virtually every other product; mortgages are incredibly standardized and the only place where there's any "let's make a deal" or "I like you as a customer" coming into play would be either in the jumbo space or for a portfolio lender... which the vast majority of mortgage originators aren't - no profit in it really these days, origination fees is where it's at.