cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First time buyer, first time here at "mortgage loan", FHA approved!!!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

First time buyer, first time here at "mortgage loan", FHA approved!!!

I have always been active in the credit card and auto loan forum, this is my first time here in the mortgage loan section. Recently, I decided to stop paying rent and stop moving around, and actually start looking to buy one of my own place. I saw the ad on TV and I called Bank of America Home Loan division. Easy 10 mins, I am now FHA approved for the amount I wanted. What's my next step? Would there be something I should to do to increase my score or credit-wise to score something better?
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: First time buyer, first time here at "mortgage loan", FHA approved!!!

I don't think you need to mess with raising your credit scores unless you have a 20% down payment and want to try to go conventional. Those scores are good, and raising them won't help you get a better FHA rate. Your next step is to find a house, submit an offer, and apply for a loan once you're under contract. At that time you can shop around and see who can give you a better rate.
Message 2 of 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Eiso,

I'm in the same boat you are.  What was your "target price" you were going for?  That would aid my general knowledge.  The only information I can base it off of would be your credit score (since our income + debt is probalby different) but it would be a big help.

Thanks!

EQ: 682 (7/24/2009)
TU: 715 (8/3/2009)

Message Edited by Cyan007 on 08-03-2009 04:55 PM
Message 3 of 5
homewardbound
Contributor