cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First time home buyer, Pre-qualified by Chase for 195,000... downpayment needed?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

First time home buyer, Pre-qualified by Chase for 195,000... downpayment needed?

Hi all,

Have very much enjoyed reading the forums!

Curious to get your opinions...

I am a first time home buyer with a steady salaried job (I'm a psychologist at a public university). I make 64,000 per year. Have been with my current job since August 2010. My credit scores are TU 683 and EQFax 697. I have had 9 years of credit card history with only 1 or 2 late payments 4 years ago. No defaluts. My credit card minimum payments are around $650 per month and I have a student loan payment of 500 per month. No car payment (it's paid off). No other expenses.

Chase pulled my credit report and i was prequalified for 195,000 loan at 3.375% APR.

The only problem is I won't have much money for a down payment (maybe would have 2000-3000 dollars saved by end of summer but that would be pushing it.

What are my options with no down payment?

I've heard of 80/20 loans (piggyback loans). I've also heard of taking out PMI.

Can I get a loan with no down payment?

Thanks!

Brad

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: First time home buyer, Pre-qualified by Chase for 195,000... downpayment needed?

So, talked to the person at Chase who gave me pre-qualification for mortgage. They are asking that I be able to put down 3.5% of the purchase price for a down payment in order to secure the loan from them. He told me that the down payment could be payed at closing (i'm guessing in combination with the closing costs, although I may be able to get a seller to pay the closing costs for me).

3.375% interest rate on $195,000 loan with only 3.5% down sounds like a great deal so I think I'm gonig to pursue this even though I've heard some mixed things about Chase in a couple posts on this forum.