Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First time home-buyer doesn't know where to start

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

First time home-buyer doesn't know where to start

I've never bought a home and had originally planned to buy in 2010, giving me more time to look for the right house and to save up for the downpayment and closing costs. However, with the tax credit and the current market, it seems like now would be a great time to buy.

I had a bankruptcy in 2003. I graduated college in 2008 and only have 14 months of work history in my current field. My annual income is currently $50,000. My Equifax score is 681. I don't know what my TU score is. I'm looking for a house between $100,000 and $140,000.

I have enough for a 5% down payment on a $140,000 house if closing costs are very low, but after researching it, it appears closing costs are much higher than I'd imagined. I had thought about borrowing more down payment money from family and then paying it back with the tax credit a few months down the road, but I hear that borrowing money for that is a no-no?

I don't want to lower my credit score with multiple hard pulls on my credit in order to find my lender, but I'm having trouble figuring out what sort of loan I would qualify for and who with...or even if I'd be better off just waiting in my situation.

Any advice is appreciated Smiley Happy

edited to add extra info:

bk discharge was actually feb '04 now that I checked
The 50,000 is from hourly wage income
Monthly debt payments: $430
Occupancy: primary residence
Message Edited by climbing on 09-03-2009 05:38 AM
Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: First time home-buyer doesn't know where to start