cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Going to be buying a home in just under a year... would like some advice.

tag
pritchardhallhokie
Frequent Contributor

Going to be buying a home in just under a year... would like some advice.

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting in these forums so go easy on me please.  Smiley Happy

My girlfriend and I are planning on getting engaged and getting a house in the late spring of next year.  Our scores shouldn't be a problem (I have a tax lien filed in GA in 2003 that I paid earlier this year and I have the certified paid certificate, still trying to get it removed all together).  Our scores will be in the low to mid 700s by then (they're in the high 600s now w/ pretty high UTI %).

We will have the following:

Combined income of $90,000

DTI 24.5% (just based on credit debt), with cell phone bills, utilities, etc, it's roughly 36%

No real IRA or 401k balances to speak of.

We have good work history, both of us will have been with the same industry/company for 3 years at the time of application.

What I guess I'm looking for are some guidelines from the experts.  Based on the info you see, with no baddies on the CR in the past 4 years from either of us, the worst of which being a State Tax lien filed in 2003 paid in 2011, and scores in the low 700s at worst.  What would you think we could qualify for if we saved $20,000 for a down payment?  We have been pricing out homes we like in the upper 200s, (usually 280-295) and we're hoping that having 20,000 will be okay based on our DTI and combined income.

Please if I'm way off base asking this, let me know or direct me to another forum.

Thanks!

Starting Score: 584TU / 580EQ
Current Score: 670 TU / 680EQ
Goal Score: 720 TU / 720 EQ

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Going to be buying a home in just under a year... would like some advice.