cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HELP Closing next week WHEN TO LOCK RATE?!?!?!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

HELP Closing next week WHEN TO LOCK RATE?!?!?!

Hello Everyone!

My rate lock expired a month ago and was told by my LO I could not lock another rate until today.  He then suggested we wait a couple days.  I am very concerned after reading the mortgage rate predictions and that they are only going UP. 

So here are my questions:

Why did I have to wait 30 days after rate lock expired to lock in my rate again?   I was locked at 4.5%

Right now the rate is at 5.1% - how much does that affect my payment on a 30 yr fixed fha?  Purchase price $200,000.

Should I call and have him lock it today or hope it goes down when all the rate sites are blowing up about the rates even getting higher?

Should I be trusting my LO because right now I feel a little bit deceived.

This is my first time buying a home and it is making me sick!

THANKS a lot to anyone with any advice.

Message 1 of 12
11 REPLIES 11
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: HELP Closing next week WHEN TO LOCK RATE?!?!?!

I hope your mortgage contingency has a cancel clause in it for a benchmark rate.   Before I could lock my GFE was 4.25% and I put my contingency at 4.5% and rates went to 4.375% before I finally got my lock, so I had to pay that fraction.

In your case, you could kill the whole deal and walk if your contingency was triggered, that is IF you have one.   You need to check your Agreement of Sale to see what you signed.

That said, this is how I feel about your LO.   He is skimming you for every penny.    Rates have been trending up for weeks now and they're accelerating in speed now because Treasury bills have been selling off like crazy (your mortgage rate is indirectly tied to how much interest 30 year T-bills pay out in interest).   If your LO is telling you to delay, delay and delay and don't lock---you're just getting suckered.