Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HELP! Closing on a house w/issues

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

HELP! Closing on a house w/issues

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting here and I am desperate for help, so please go easy on me!

We opened our escrow on a FHA loan in late January (new build) and they obviously pulled my credit then, all good. 

Fast forward to now, I did not realize until early this month that they would be pulling it again before we close (set for 5/24). So I went into a panic mode because somehow in the last 3 months my middle score had dropped just below the FHA threshold.

So I began working with a credit counselor and she helped remove old medical collections as of 4/9. My score on Privacy Guard went up but when I checked on Credit Check Total, they had dropped about 50 points!!!  And one score dropped on Credit Karma as well. My credit counselor said everything should "refresh" on the 5th and be all good but I am freaking out.

So now I don't know which to believe, if any, since these are evidently not the models the mortgage companies use.

I don't know the exact date they will pull my credit again but I am assuming within a week before we are set to close? Can anyone help me!1

5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: HELP! Closing on a house w/issues

Yes typically a CR is only good for 90 days so its standard practice with a new build that its going to expire before the house is finished and they have to rerun it again.  Its standard practice with any mortgage.  A company is going to rerun before closing to make sure you havent gone out and bought a car, opened new credit lines, not paid bills, etc.

They just ran mine right at the 90 day mark (early April) since I'm set to close in May.  It was a hard pull but necessary.  For me though I continued to work at the credit scores so I was able to raise mine.

My LO will do ANOTHER pull the week of closing (however it will be a soft pull).