Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with Mortgage-speak!

tag
moneypenny02
New Contributor

Help with Mortgage-speak!

Hi, 

I am trying to explain something to my mortgage broker, but I am having a hard time getting my question across or really understanding whether he is answering me.  Hopefully someone here can give me the correct terms to use to communicate with him properly.  

Background: We have already closed on our mortgage and we are about 3 months into paying. This is my first mortgage, but I have a LOT of experience with student loans.  With my student loan, for example, $500 is due the 1st of every month, which includes principal and interest on my 30-year payment schedule.  If I pay $500 on January 25th in advance of my February due date, then I have paid all of the interest for that month, as well as a little bit to the principal. Assuming my payment gets applied immediately, interest starts to accrue again on January 26th.  If I make a payment on January 26th for $500 and select "apply this to my next payment", then the result of that is that it goes about 99% to principal, and only a little bit to whatever interest has accrued btwn my 1st and second payment.  I do this every month, so I keep getting more and more payments "ahead" of schedule.  I have used this method instead of just adding a $500 principal payment so that I can pay down my principle faster AND give me a cushion so that if something happens in the future and I cannot afford to make the payments.  (The next "due" date on my loan isn't until Oct. 2014, but I still pay each month.)