Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

High DTI

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

High DTI

Please tell me what my chances are of getting an FHA loan of around $190,000:

Monthly income - 6,180 (same job for 5 years) plus CS of 1,000 (will continue for the next 12 years)

Monthly debt payments 1,925

$3,000 currently saved towards dp and $22,000 in 401k (can withdraw or borrow up to 50% for home purchase).

I originally planned to wait until I could get the debt paid down a bit, but rent is increasing (lease runs through September) from $1,200 to a range of $1,300 to $1,400 (depending on length of the lease).  I can pay it, but would rather put that amount into a mortgage!

Credit scores are EQ 693, TU 635 (dinged for a zombie debt that I just PFD'd, hasn't fallen off yet), EX (FAKO) 683.

I know the debt payments are high, but I've been paying this amount of rent for the last 4 years - hoping that will be a compensating factor since my payments won't change that much.  No late payments at all besides old collection, which CA agreed to delete - just high payments. 

thanks in advance for input!

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: High DTI

What are the debt payments (broken down)?

How expensive would a house/taxes be in your area?

With your debt already being at 31% dti you will need really strong compensating factors to buy a house unless you live in a relatively inexpensive area.  If you are assuming that a mortgage would be say 1300 with PITI, then that would put you at 52% DTI.  With alot of reserves, good job history, and high FICO this is possible but is definitley a harder sell.

Message 2 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable