Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How large of a loan to expect?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

How large of a loan to expect?

Hello, I will be looking to buy my first home and am very curious what to expect regarding what kind of mortgage my wife and I will qualify for.

About us:

I am 28 she is 30

I have a phd she has an md. I just started working a little over a year ago, she has been a medical resident for 2 years. our cumulative gross is currently 150k annually, this will increase ~10k/year for the next 5 years and then more than double in the 6th year.

my credit score is 750 hers is 790 via creditkarma (not sure if that website is legit). i have a thin credit history (3 years with cc), otherwise it is flawless.

we have no debt. no car loans, no student loans, just monthly cc bills always paid on time.

down payment around ~50k.

I am hoping to get a loan between 300 and 400k. I think the payments on this would not be unreasonable, however perhaps the bank would think this is too ambitious based on our income?

am i at a disadvantage for my short work history? should i wait to buy a new car until after buying the house? do i have a chance of getting a 400 k loan? what about 450k? at what rate? we are looking in a philly suburb where prices are elevated for how much house we would like to buy. i am frustrated by the 28% of gross rule of thumb and would like to exceed that with my monthly payments. should i just take a 30 year loan and overpay the monthly payment? 

i am very new to thinking about this so i apologize for confusing statements and questions.

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
boomhower
Valued Contributor

Re: How large of a loan to expect?