Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How much does FICO go up when adding Mortgage to CR

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

How much does FICO go up when adding Mortgage to CR

Just curious - What has been the average number of points that folks FICO scores have risen since adding a mortgage onto CR?

My dad owns my house, but I've been paying the mortgage for 5 years, so I've never had it on my credit.  I am now doing a simple assumption agreement to have myself added on to mortgage (alread on deed).  Will my FICO score see positive growth?

In advance, thanks.

Message Edited by lacedup2go on 11-21-2008 02:43 PM
Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: How much does FICO go up when adding Mortgage to CR

Initially, I think, your score, depending on what other types of installment loans are on your CRs, would go down. Again, that depends -- if you don't have an installment loan at ALL on your CRs, it could go up nominally -- or stay the same.

But usually, a new mortgage (or new loan) dings your credit a bit. But the good news is that it WILL rise back up around the 6 month mark!
Message 2 of 14
Anonymous
Not applicable

Darn - I have two - one is an auto loan and another is unsecured loan.  bummer.  Smiley Sad
Message 3 of 14
Anonymous
Not applicable

Don't be so bummed ... even though it will (most likely) dip for the first few months, when it hits around the 6 month mark, not only should it go back to where it WAS, it really should also rise even higher!

I *think* you'll graduate to a new bucket with a mortgage.

Dumbo question for the mortgage experts out there: If the OP is ADDED to a pre-existing mortgage, would the account number stay the same (hopefully, you know what I mean if I'm not using the right terminology). Meaning, would the OP "inherit" the loan's history?