Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How much loan amount for our income?

tag
pattybear
Established Member

How much loan amount for our income?

I have not posted much here, but I have spent quite a bit of time reviewing posts and learning from you-all.  We meet all the requirements for the FHA Back to Work program.  We just recently had a lender pull, which my middle score was 634, and my DH was 656.  So we were told I need to get mine up to 640.   The other problem we have is I am an independent contractor/self-employed, so after expenses my income is low, and my husband is currently working part-time, but looking for full-time work.  He's in the construction industry.  My question is how much income do we need to qualify for a 260,000 home?  Our debt is only a $366 car payment and $75 IRS payment (no lien or anything filed).  No credit card debt.   We were told we would qualify for $130,000, which that will get us nowhere in the area we live.  So I'm just wondering what I need to get our income up to.

Our last two years income is:  2011: ME: $50,221 (20,568 after expenses)             2012:  ME:  49,509 (27,196 after expenses deducted)                       

DH: $18,733                                                               DH:  29,541

So far this year, my income is $65,000.  If I do not deduct many expenses, that would be great for the mortgage qualification, but then I'll owe more taxes.  If I do that, back to my question, between 2012 and 2013 then, what home price could we qualify for, with 3.5 percent down?

Thank you all in advance!!

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
DallasLoanGuy
Super Contributor

Re: How much loan amount for our income?

what do taxes run on  a 250k home?

Retired Lender
Message 2 of 8
DallasLoanGuy
Super Contributor

when did he start part time? how many hours is he getting? what hourly rate?

is the part time work the same as his last 2yrs of work?

Retired Lender
Message 3 of 8
pattybear
Established Member