Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to deal with Tenant?

tag
eddymvp
Frequent Contributor

How to deal with Tenant?

If everyone goes well I will be officially a landlord next Thursday. This is my first time being a landlord and I don't know how to deal with the tenant that is currently living there. She wants to stay living there and that's fine with me as long as she pays her rent. The property was forclosure and she has been living there for a few months without paying rent. She was paying 1,050 for rent and I would like it to drop it to 1,000. 

I want her to give me a $1,000 deposit and pay the first month upfront. Do I have to get a notarize letter for this?

Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: How to deal with Tenant?

I would get a whole new lease agreement drawn up and signed by this tenant !!!
Message 2 of 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

Tenants that have not paid rent in the past are likely to not pay rent in the future. I'd evict and start over if it were me.
Message 3 of 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

I think the Op means that the tenant stopped paying rent becuase the property was being foreclosed upon.  The banks are not set up to be rental agencies and will sometimes let a renter stay just to keep the property occupied and in good standing as it more likely the home will not get vandalized and is often as cheap or cheaper then going through evicitions process.
Message 4 of 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

I'm with mel, I'd do an entirely new lease and start over. 
Message 5 of 13
SonorityGenius
Established Contributor

If It were me, I would also evict the present tenant. Inspect the unit, make any "modifications" (paint, insulation, perhaps carpeting) notate the overall condition AND draft up a brand new lease and put a FOR RENT sign up! A new tenant, a new lease.