Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I need advice from the experts regarding income

tag
mrsjr
Regular Contributor

I need advice from the experts regarding income

Hi, all.  I am interested in applying for a mortgage later this year, but I'm afraid that I might run into an issue regarding income.  Last year, I was a graduate student and my income was quite low (not enough to qualify for a mortgage by far).  I started my new career this past January, and I am currently in a teaching contract making enough to qualify for a mortgage.  I plan to remain in this field until I retire.  So, since I had very little income last year, will I need to wait two years before applying for a mortgage?  I read that you need two years of qualifying, verifiable income.  Is this true?  Thanks so much for your help!

Starting Score: 601
Current Score: 739 TU
Goal Score: 800

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Revelate
Moderator Emeritus

Re: I need advice from the experts regarding income

@mrsjr wrote:

Hi, all.  I am interested in applying for a mortgage later this year, but I'm afraid that I might run into an issue regarding income.  Last year, I was a graduate student and my income was quite low (not enough to qualify for a mortgage by far).  I started my new career this past January, and I am currently in a teaching contract making enough to qualify for a mortgage.  I plan to remain in this field until I retire.  So, since I had very little income last year, will I need to wait two years before applying for a mortgage?  I read that you need two years of qualifying, verifiable income.  Is this true?  Thanks so much for your help!