Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

In NEED of Help...How to know when the time is right

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

In NEED of Help...How to know when the time is right

Hello to all,

I am new to the whole home buying process and really know nothing about it. I have been looking at many homes both hud and foreclosues in and around the atlanta area. But I want to know when is the right time to start the process, I have thought about jumping out there many times but have talked myself out of it. I have two co-workers that have both just purchased their first homes this year, and I think the thing that is holding me back are my own doubts and fears.

I have an equafax fico score of 659 per score watch. I have a collection on my credit that I am currently paying and still owe $2,000. I have school loans that I just started paying and they total $13,300. I have two credit cards that have balances of $400 and $1,900. I have a car loan that I still owe $11,000. I dont have much of any thing in my savings I usually only keep about $200 in there. I recently started a IRA and it only has $275 in it so far. I have a little over $4,000 in my 401K. My gross income is $43,800. I have been with my employer for 5 yrs but have only worked full time for 3 yrs come this february.

I would like to purchase a house for no more than $125,000 and have a total mortgage payment in the range of $800-$1,000 PITI. But I am the type of person that like to have their ducks in a row before jumping into a situation, I don't want to waste anyones time. I want to know would I be able to qualify to purchase a home? Or what do I need to fix, get rid of, or pay off before taking the chance to get qualified?? How much money should one have on hand before going through the process??? People keep telling me I can qualify and get a house I just don't feel very confident I guess because Im not familar with the process.