cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Income qualifications for a mortgage.

tag
Sunny_skies

Income qualifications for a mortgage.

This is my first posting on this forum and I apologize ahead of time if this question has been answered somewhere else.

I am going to apply for a mortgage probably in late spring 2009. I have been doing as much as I can to bring my credit scores up. Already they have gone from the mid 500's in the summer to avg of 630 now. I have a bankruptcy from 8/05 but I believe from what I've read here on the forums that I'm far enough past that that it should not be problematic. It's been so great to watch those scores creep up! Smiley Happy

My income is my issue right now. I am an RN and have worked continuously with no break in employment for the past 20 years. For most of those years I worked as a hospital staff nurse. However, for the past 2 and a half years I have worked as a travel nurse. The thing about travel nursing is that my rate of pay looks lower than what I made before but really is not.You see, a portion of my hourly rate is untaxed because the IRS allows a certain amount to be used for meals, incidentals, etc. Subsequently, my taxed portion is lower than what I used to make in the hospital but my total paycheck is more. I am concerned about this because I am afraid that it will affect the size of mortgage I'll be able to get. I actually just started a new permanent job last month here at home because I want to settle down here again (which is why I want to buy a house) and so I will no longer be doing the travel thing. But my income tax for this year which I will be filing soon will reflect the lower income.Will this be a problem?