Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is PMI required for VA loan?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Is PMI required for VA loan?

I'm guessing the answer is no, hoping I'm right, I' budgeting for a VA loan next year

Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
empiror22
Regular Contributor

Re: Is PMI required for VA loan?

PMI is not required for a VA loan. 

Message 2 of 16
StartingOver10
Moderator Emerita

You are right - no PMI. It is one of the best things about a VA loan. Smiley Happy

Message 3 of 16
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks everyone!

I was also reading that the closing cost is fixed at 1% for VA loans. This will save me quite a bit of money up front, which is great.

This is my first time using my VA benefits since I got out of the military

Message 4 of 16
redbeard
Frequent Contributor

Are you sure about the 1% closing costs?  I think the 1% only refers to a particular fee, perhaps the funding fee for the loan.  I can't imagine closing costs would be limited to this.

Dan

Just trying to get my scores to rise from the dead......

Wait.... I think I just heard a heartbeat!

Message 5 of 16
StartingOver10
Moderator Emerita

Agree with Dan, no way the closing costs are fixed to 1%.  Speak to your LO for details and have him prepare a closing costs worksheet for you. Many of my buyers get VA loans and the closing costs are much higher than 1%. Even the VA funding fee is higher than 1%. 

Message 6 of 16
Anonymous
Not applicable

it's actually the Loan origination fee that is capped at 1% according to the VA website

http://www.benefits.va.gov/phoenix/pdf/rlc/closing_costs.pdf

Message 7 of 16
DeadSpider
Frequent Contributor

Like everybody said no MI on VA and you can even have real low FICO scroe !!

Message 8 of 16
Anonymous
Not applicable