Established Member
mrs4brl

Is This a Fair Interest Rate on Auto Loan

I have a dealership that pulled a 600 score and I was looking to buy a 2008 Toyota Rav4.  I don't have a lot of credit - I've been repairing my credit for the past 6 years after a horrible divorce.  So I only have 2 tradelines on my report which are both credit cards.  Each of them has a 30 day late payment from last year.  Otherwise no other baddies - no collections, no public records, no repos, etc.  Toyota financing approved me with a 13.25% rate for 72 months.  I know my score is far from great but 13.25% sounds so high - Is this a fair rate?  Any advice??
New Contributor
wiwend

Re: Is This a Fair Interest Rate on Auto Loan

[ Edited ]
On my reports from this last weekend, it says the expected rates for 590-619 is 14.114 and 620-659 is 10.773.

I know that's just a guideline, but looks like that might be in line.

Someone else may know better than me, tho. :smileyhappy:

ETA: That's for a 48-mo. Guess I don't know what to expect for a longer period of time. Sorry.

Message Edited by wiwend on 01-18-2008 04:37 PM
1/13/08: TU:727 EQ:730 EX:710
Why does Experian hate me? And Discover? I never did anything to either of them...
4/23/08: Officially addicted to myFICO. TU:726 EQ: 741 EX: 721
New Contributor
jj15

How much are you putting down? Part of it might be that you're asking for 100% financing.
01/05/08 EQ 598 TU 612 Experian 599
01/25/08 EQ 605 TU 620 Experian 599
08/04/08 EQ 658 TU??? Experian 635
Established Contributor
CreditDrama85

[ Edited ]
if your were purchasing a pre-owned car or used car the 13% rate would be fair. since the car is NEW i think your rate should be somewhere around 8%

Message Edited by CreditDrama85 on 01-19-2008 12:02 PM
Senior Contributor
fishbjc

That's a ridiculous rate.  If it were me, I'd hold off a little bit until you get a score improvement so you'll save TONS of interest.