Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is this possible???

tag
TwinGirls19
Regular Contributor

Is this possible???

Townhouse i would like to purchase is 220,000, my wife and I are teacher assistants currently making 25k and 26k, with my scores is this home price range realistic fha? Or even conventional?
CURRENT SCORES: EX Fico (Amex) 730, TU Fico 745, EQ Fico 717

CURRENT CARDS: Amex Green NPSL, Amex BCE 2K, Chase Sapphire 5K, Citi Thankyou Preferred 3.5K, Discover It 1.7K, Walmart Discover 1.6K, Capital One Platinum 1.5K

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
1LNurse
Established Member

Re: Is this possible???

I'm no expert but to give you an example: My income is 91K and with my debt to income ratio, they told me I can afford 180K. I think there are alot of factors involved..down payment, debt, etc. You should consult a mortgage broker for a free analysis!

Message 2 of 8
Hoya08
Regular Contributor

Your scores look solid for a good APR.  However, without your DTI (monthly minimum payments [of CCs, loans, alimony, child support] divided by monthly gross income), you can't determine how much of a loan your bank/CU will extend.

Message 3 of 8
0x47
Contributor

You need to total up all your monthly debts (student loans, auto, CCs, etc) and figure that as a percentage of your pre-tax income.  The "typical" percentage is that your housing PITI payment (principal, interest, taxes, and insurance) be no more than 28% of your income; total debt payments including PITI should not total more than about 36% of your income.

Figure homeowners insurance will run about $100/mo, property taxes maybe $160/mo (assuming 1% property tax minus some sort of homestead and mortgage tax credits), and that leaves about $930 for principal and interest.  With a 20% downpayment on a $220K townhome, you'd be looking at $880 or so in principal and interest (assuming 4.375% interest rate AND assuming your middle credit scores are 740+).