Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Joint Loan Question

tag
ba6412
Established Member

Joint Loan Question

Hi,

My girlfriend and I recently got engaged.  In Michigan, I guess that means we can legally apply for a Joint Loan.

Please see below our situation and my question:

Myself:  My scores are currently at 595.  I have been repairing my credit for the last 6 months in hopes of purchasing a home, however things are going slow.  I never realized how difficult this would be (writing GW letters and getting everything of my father's off my CR).  I also have a judgement that was satisfied.  I am working with the plaintiff's attorney to have it removed from my credit report, however this takes time as well.  Pretty much, I cannot get a mortgage on my own.

My Fiance:  She has at 745 score.  She doesn't have a ton of credit history, but has good scores and has 4 credit cards that are paid on properly.  She is in good shape and could most likely get a loan.

QUESTION:  What is the best route for us to obtain a loan together?  I would hate for it to be in her name, when I would like us to have a joint mortgage.  Is this possible for me to also be on the loan with my issues going on with my credit?  We have plans to sit down with a loan officer soon, however I want to know what to expect.

Any information or suggestions would be very helpful.

Thank you,

J

Message 1 of 17
16 REPLIES 16
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Joint Loan Question

If your fiance can qualify on her own, that would definitely be the way to go. You can always be added to the title. Don't let pride or ego interfere with the best financial decision Smiley Happy.

Message 2 of 17
ba6412
Established Member

Thank you for your reply.  I more or less would like it to be a joint loan if possible.

I know it seems to be ego, however it is not.  It is the fact that I don't want her to feel like the burden is all on her.

Message 3 of 17
ezdriver
Senior Contributor

@ba6412 wrote: