For an old apartment from 2006
The clerk gave me the amounts and the lawyer to contact
So I did just that and I was told the account they have has been canceled
And they have no information about a judgement
I then contacted the management company who told me
The building was sold in 2008 and they have no records from 2006

I contacted my lawyer who don't know what to do she advised me to file
A order to vacate. I'm under contract and I know that takes time
I am at a lost as to what to do I'm in BK NY if anybody can help I would appreciate it
Message 1 of 13
12 REPLIES 12
txbradybunch
Valued Member

Re: Judgement

(1) talk to your loan officer..... they should be able to advise you.  Was satisfaction/release of the judgments a condition of close?  I am no expert, but given what you have learned this appears to be something ripe for filing a motion to vacate the judgment - it doesn't sound like anyone will fight your action.

Good luck! 

Message 2 of 13
MOMO30
Regular Contributor

Thanks It has not been an condition I just don't want any issues my loan officer hasn't said much
Message 3 of 13
basballguy
Frequent Contributor

The title company will probably have an issue with it (maybe).  In addition to clearing the property they can and many times will do a records check against the buyer.  An open judgment can allow for someone to put a lien on the property.

What kind of loan are you doing?  FHA and USDA have judgment requirements that must be met...VA might too.

Message 4 of 13
ESA2012
New Contributor

we had a judgment show up during the title process and we had to get it cleared. the company had to send a release of judgement to the courts, then we had to get a certified copy of the release and file it at our court house then take that to the title company. it was a hassle but its what needed to be done. good luck

Message 5 of 13
MOMO30
Regular Contributor