Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Just under 600 in Chicago

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Just under 600 in Chicago

I recently read the post "580 or less club" and have a question similar to that reader.  My husband and I are trying to purchase a HUD home.  We have never owned a home before.  We have $8000 saved for down payment, after which we will have approximately 10 months mortgage in reserve after closing.  We are two years discharged on a bankruptcy due to medical bills and being overextended on our rental payments.  I have been paying $700/month for rent for the past 5 years while being a full-time student and working only during the summer months.  I have researched the entire process and waited and prayed to make sure I wasn't rushing in.  I pay my own utilities in my apartment which total 1.5 times my rent.  So During the winter months I sometimes get behind, but ALWAYS ALWAYS bring it current in the summer.  Recently my husband was awarded his social security payments, which we have been waiting 8 years for.  This gives us documented, steady income now which according to all calculations, the mortgage will be approximately 33% of his income.  His median score is 600 and mine is somewhere around 525.  Why are we having such a hard time getting a lender or even a realtor to work with us on this one?  I know its a tough situation, but definitely not an impossible one.

Signed,

Looking for a yes man!

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
rockymtngrl
Frequent Contributor

Re: Just under 600 in Chicago