Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Last late payment in 2010

tag
LCD328
Valued Member

Last late payment in 2010

New to the forums, I'm a newbie. I'm getting ready to apply for a mortgage and I'm concerned about some late payments I had from 2008 to 2010 on two different car loans. 

At the time,  I had moved my family back home because of parents illness, but I had to stay in Florida for work and commute to Birmingham,  Al on the weekends. We got behind when my husband lost his job and couldn't find another one for several months.  I had been paying on both cars for over 3 years, with no late payments.  We got behind on both cars and had over 15 late 30 day payments, 3 late 60 days and 1 late 90 day.  We finally got both cars caught up to current and paid the last two years of payments on time. Both cars have been paid in full. 

My question is, will these late payments be a deciding factor in getting a mortgage, even though they are 5 years old. Should I even bother sending a goodwill letter with that many late payments. 

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. 

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
StartingOver10
Moderator Emerita

Re: Last late payment in 2010

Welcome to MyFICO forums! Smiley Happy

Based on your post, the lates are old so they will not be an issue in your mortgage application. You probably will have to write a short letter of explaination but that is completely normal.

It would be helpful to know your mortgage scores.  For your own information and better responses, pull your mortgage scores here. They are the same scores the lender pulls. Don't look at the FICO 08 scores, the mortgage scores are further down in the reports along with the auto enhanced scores and bankcard scores.