cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking to refinance. Excellent credit, little debt, no income hist as unpaid caregiver for 7 yrs

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Looking to refinance. Excellent credit, little debt, no income hist as unpaid caregiver for 7 yrs

I am being denied a refinance because of limited income history. I've cared for my mother for 7 1/2 years and just started getting a salary from her in November. Balance on my mortgage is $58,000, never had a late pmt, have 1/3 ownership of my mother's house which is paid for, $88,000 in an IRA, credit score between 750-800. Because she is paying the bills, I have low expenses, and rent out rooms in my house to keep paying my mortgage. I'm afraid that even if I were to wait til I've been receiving a salary from my mother for two years, they won't consider the income "legitimate" since I am being paid by my mother. What recourse do I have?

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
StartingOver10
Moderator Emerita

Re: Looking to refinance. Excellent credit, little debt, no income hist as unpaid caregiver for 7 yr

@Anonymous wrote:

I am being denied a refinance because of limited income history. I've cared for my mother for 7 1/2 years and just started getting a salary from her in November. Balance on my mortgage is $58,000, never had a late pmt, have 1/3 ownership of my mother's house which is paid for, $88,000 in an IRA, credit score between 750-800. Because she is paying the bills, I have low expenses, and rent out rooms in my house to keep paying my mortgage. I'm afraid that even if I were to wait til I've been receiving a salary from my mother for two years, they won't consider the income "legitimate" since I am being paid by my mother. What recourse do I have?