cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Major blow drops all my scores by 28 points, I feel doomed.

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Major blow drops all my scores by 28 points, I feel doomed.

Hello all, need some advice pertaining to my situation here.

As little as 4 years ago I had pretty good credit at around 680 average. But that changed towards the end of 2013.

After I graduated from college in 2013 I took on a residency which required me to relocate from Houston to Austin and halfway through the residency the program had internal issues and they had to terminate my tenure. That left me with no financial income and unable to work because I had no license to practice pharmacy yet.

The apartment complex I was leading at would not let me out of my lease unless I paid the amount in full so I had no choice but to let it default and move back to my home city. While preparing for my boards I picked up odd jobs but still could not afford to pay many bills so most of my credit cards defaulted as well.

I made the best of things and slowly managed to bring my scores from 560 to about 630.

Then the major floods happened in Houston 2 months back an both my vehicle and wife's vehicle were flooded and considered a total loss. I was forced to purchase a new vehicle myself and leased a vehicle for my wife.

First my wife's vehicle was reported as paid off by insurance and as a cosigner and dropped my scores by 14 points on average. Then today my vehicle showed up on my reports and each dropped by about 28 points each.

Now my equifax score is back down to 588, transunion to 605, and experian is 589. And this has left me so discouraged after being so close to reaching 650 as little as 4 months ago.

My wife's scores all average between 660 through 670.

My income is $108,000.00 yearly and my wife's is $60,000.00.
My school loan debt is close to $150,00.00 and pay $1,200.00 per month while my wife's school loan debt is $30,000.00.