cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Making offer on a foreclosure....help?

tag
New Contributor

Making offer on a foreclosure....help?

I'm considering making an offer on a REO/(bank owned)/foreclosure. 

The list price is $160,000 (originally listed at $180,000). 

Homes in this neighborhood seem to have sold for  $150,000 and up in recent times.  There is another smaller house nearby also listed at $148,000.  Other homes in the neighborhood are all asking for upper $150's upwards to $200,000+.

From what I see on sites that list foreclosure information, it seems this home previously sold for $170,000.  But it also seems that what is owed to the bank is $125,000 (listed as 'opening bid'??) as listed on these sites.  Is this right? 

If so, does this mean I might get lucky making an super lowball offer over $125K???  Or rather stay closer to the list price? 

This is my first time buying a house, and I don't know much about buying a foreclosure.  So, any comments and advice welcome. 

Thanks in advance!!
FICOs
04/08/08 TU 761 EQ 740 EX 756
Closed on my first mortgage on 4/25/2008!!!
05/18/08 TU 771 EQ 740 EX 756
08/18/08 TU 749 EQ776 EX 768
I never have real credit card debt, just the 1-9% for reporting purposes!!!
Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
ShanetheMortgageMan
Super Contributor

Re: Making offer on a foreclosure....help?