Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mortgage Anxieties

tag
JayTee1
Frequent Contributor

Mortgage Anxieties

I have conditional pre-approval from a mortgage company for a new construction condo that I will be moving into in about a year from now.  The conditions are simply a few more points  to get my middle mortgage score up to 660.  I'll be doing a USDA loan most likely, and I think 640 is all that's required, but the company I'm working with requires 660.  

I have no new surprises coming, I've been rebuilding for the last two years and then some.  Score simulators show my score going up 15-25 points over the next few months as I get all credit card balances to 0.  I'm not even sure they're taking into account the reduction of accounts that will have balances, but at any rate, I should be okay.

My one big fear is some paid judgments that are no longer appearing on any of my credit reports, but are less than seven years old.  I assume the underwriter will do a public records search, maybe USDA does as well. These are all completely paid judgments, and I know this for a fact.  I will probably go down to the courthouse just to double- and triple-check sometime soon. The most recent one was 2012; the others are mostly from 2009/2010.   All of them are from my current apartment complex, who is very quick to start eviction proceedings if rent is late.  An eviction was never completed, as I paid everything before any drop-dead dates including all court costs, but this happened several times.  (Difficult period in my life, long story, it's over now.)

My understanding is that these will not affect my ability to get a mortgage because they are all paid, but I can't help worrying about it.  Can anyone with experience, maybe even one of the friendly loan officers who frequent these forums, give any reassurance?