cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mortgage Preparation 2013

tag
EyesofTexas

Mortgage Preparation 2013

Me and wife plan to buy a home this year. Preferably in April-May and I want to make sure we are prepared.

Background info. We married April 2012.  I worked as teacher/coach for a private school for 33k  then got a better job in a public school and salary is about 55k. I have been teaching for 3 years

My wife is self employed and is a licensed hair stylist and makes about 30-35k per year. 

My credit score is 707 and my wife credit score is 617. My credit report is clean with no blemishes. According to myfico, only thing hurting my score is length of credit history. My wife has collections from about 5-6 years ago. Last year she opened two credit cards to build back her credit. Which worked because she was at 520. 

At this point is there anything that we need to do to be approved for a mortgage of about 150k in Texas? I'm assuming that we will have to take the FHA route. We have 10k saved as of now.

One of my concerns is my income. I now make 50k+ but didn't start making that amount till mid year, but I been teaching for last 3 years. What income will be counted for the mortgage process? The 33k or 50k+ income I make now?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Mike_B03
Valued Contributor

Re: Mortgage Preparation 2013

Not certain on the income but one thing to try and do ASAP is to bring up your wife's credit score. You'll both need to be over 640 I believe for an FHA loan.

You said her's is 617, is that Equifax or TransUnion? What's the score with the other one and what is it saying is holding the score back?

Message 2 of 8
EyesofTexas

From what I understand and have been told by a mortgage lender is a 580 is required for FHA loan. Now this was last year and hopefully it has not changed. Her 617 is Eqifax. Past collections is holding her account back. 

Message 3 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable