New Contributor
prabs99

Mortgage Refinance?

[ Edited ]

I have a FHA mortgage that is 4 years old. I owe 214K on it. The interest rate is 4.5%. The value of the home is 235K. Can I refinance it? What are my options?

Thanks for you help.

1. Credit.  766 (Disc) 06/15/2014
  2. Income.  96K
  3. Source of income.  Employment
  4. Monthly debt payments.  11% DTI
  5. Employment 7 years, W2
  6. Assets/Reserves.  6K
  7. Location.  WA State, Benton County
  8. Property.  Single family house, 
  9. Value.  235K
  10. Occupancy.  Primary residence
  11. Transaction Type.  Refinance
FICO (Discover) 767
Established Contributor
TheGardner

Re: Mortgage Refinance?

I am not an expert but I don't think a refi will help you. Without 20% equity you will not avoid PMI. Right now you have 20k equity a large part of which will be lost to closing costs. What's the purpose for the refi?

If anyone needs me I will be In The Garden. Goal Score: 720 for all in 2014.
TU - 729 EX - 703 EQ - 697 myfico 3 score watch
Need to work on AAoA now..
In the Garden Oct 23, 2014 - ?
Super Contributor
ShanetheMortgageMan

You could refinance into a new FHA loan and get a lower interest rate, but the mortgage insurance would now be for the life of the loan (whereas currently it will drop off after at least 5% years and when you pay your mortgage balance down to 78% of the value at the time you got the loan).  You could refinance into conventional and get a similar interest rate, and pay .59% per year in mortgage insurance (assuming a 760+ score)... but I believe your mortgage insurance is being calculated at .50% per year if you got the mortgage between 4/5/10 & 10/4/10.

New Contributor
prabs99

JUst for my clarification, if the loan value drops below 78%, I wont be paying the PMI, but if I refinance using FHA now I will be paying PMI for the entire loan. I dont mind waiting a few more years. Thanks for you help. Is a fixed rate or ARM better over the long run? 

FICO (Discover) 767