Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mortgage refinance / foreclosure - divorce

tag
Ellifino
New Contributor

Mortgage refinance / foreclosure - divorce

Hey all,

I am looking for some advice on what my options might be as I get divorced.

About the house: tax appraisal value is $192,000.  I have lived in this house for four years.  Both the mortgage and the deed are solely in my husband's name, although it was purchased during our marriage and part of the down payment was made with marital funds.  The property taxes here are around $6,000 annually and our homeowner's insurance is $1,000 annually.

The existing loan amount is $140,000, so there is some equity in the loan.  And the housing market in this neighborhood is great: within the last two years, two houses in the neighborhood went on sale and both sold within 30 days.  The neighborhood is lovely and it's a desirable school district.

About me: I am a medical student with scholarship income and child support income.  My annual scholarship income is $26,500 and my child support income is $3600.  My ex (not the man I am currently divorcing) also helps out with things like after school care, etc, and is willing to up my official child support payments if it would help me include that income with a refinance.  I have another year in a research program and will graduate medical school in 2017, at which point my income as a resident will go up to around $50,000 annually, with an estimated guaranteed $2500 yearly raise.