Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mortgage while in foreclosure after BK7

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Mortgage while in foreclosure after BK7

I was discharged ch 7 back in Oct 2012, including the house. Wife is not on note and did not file BK, but is on the deed. We still live in the house. It is in foreclosure. We want to walk away soon. 

What are the chances of getting a mortgage in this situation? Either a VA loan (I am a Vet) or FHA 203k loan. Possibly buy a fixer upper, stay in current house till repairs are made. Is this possible?

Never late on any payment in the 4 years since BK. My score around 670 wife probably in the 700s never late on anything. DTI very good. 

11 REPLIES 11
kc0039
Established Contributor

Re: Mortgage while in foreclosure after BK7

VA waiting times are 2 years after foreclosure completion date. FHA is 3 years after completion date same as USDA. If your foreclosure isn't completed yet, you'll have to wait. Maybe some lenders will make an exception and that's when you're dialing for dollars

Licensed in IL
Message 2 of 12
ShanetheMortgageMan
Super Contributor