Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My Can I get a mortgage thread

tag
Vwaller72
Valued Member

My Can I get a mortgage thread

This board has been so helpful in me rebuilding my credit I've decided to start a "Can I Get A Mortgage" thread and see what help you all can give me on this front.

I'm a Navy veteran who can use a VA loan. I plan to use VA to minimize what I need to get in to a home. My cash reserves have been hit hard by medical bills and I want to expend as little upfront cash as I can. In truth this probably isn't the ideal time but right now I'm paying $1950 a month in rent which is such a waste. With interest rates so low I want to go ahead and make a move now if possible. Our time frame is the end of the school year. I'd like to look to close in early May or June.

1. Credit.  

My current scores are:

Equifax – 632 (FICO pull from EQ site)

Transunion – 670 (MyFICO pull)

Experian – 677 (from EX site, not FICO)

• I have 3 State Tax Liens all from pre-2005 that are all released but still on my reports.
  • I have 3 chargeoffs all from 2008.
  • I have a car loan that was paid off in 2010. It is showing a 30, 60 and 90 AFTER the final payment. I'm getting that resolved (have a letter from Santander). However, there are 6 accurate 30 day lates over the 5 years of that car loan (most recent in early 2010).
  • There is 1 collection on my TU report that is an error. I have spoken to the CA and they are removing it and have offered a letter if I need one for the mortgage lender explaining it was sold to them in error. this is only on TU.
  • I have 2 current car loans. One is over 2 years old. No lates on either.
  • I have 2 Cap 1 cards I've had under a year, no lates. I keep my util below 15% but will keep below 9% moving forward.