cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My USDA RD loan process has officially begun!

tag
750orbust
Frequent Contributor

Re: My USDA RD loan process has officially begun!

You can get a pre-approval letter without finding a house first. The whole point of pre-approval is to find out what price range of houses you can even look at.
Message 21 of 29
750orbust
Frequent Contributor

Besides, a lender who knows what they're doing should be able to tell you what areas qualify for USDA.
Message 22 of 29
750orbust
Frequent Contributor

Re: My USDA RD loan process has officially begun! *UPDATE*

Had appraisal done and appraiser required a few repairs to be made. So now we're waiting on the seller to decide how they're going to get the repairs made since they're broke. I made the offer in our contract to donate any labor that may be needed for such repairs since I work in construction and can easily do this myself. BUT! If I do, I hope they're willing to adjust the sales price since I will be doing them a big favor.

Loan officer hasn't been very forthcoming with status information but I'm assuming since the appraisal has been done that my application is off to USDA.

I'm in Arkansas, does anyone else here in Ar have any idea as to how long my app will be at USDA?
Message 23 of 29
Erinkkelly
Valued Member

I work for a mortgage company and it just depends on your area how long it take USDA to review the loan. Typically we don't send the files to USDA until the bank underwriters have pretty much cleared all condition on our minus the final USDA Approval. We work with Ohio and West Virginia USDA. WV USDA is quick, takes 24-48 hours, but Ohio take a lot longer like sometime 2-3 weeks..I'm guessing because they are busier than other offices.

Message 24 of 29
750orbust
Frequent Contributor