Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NFCU 100% Financing

tag
xerostatus
Regular Contributor

NFCU 100% Financing

I'm considering on applying for NFCU's 100% Financing mortgage loan.

I've already checked to see how much of a loan they would give me based on my income and existing debts, and have a ballpark figure in mind.

Now, I am a relatively young person really just bull-heading into this process (for now), so I'm as yellow as they come (that is to say, I am an absolute newbie to all of this).

I want know if anyone has any insight into the process, in terms of what kind of cash I would need to put up if I were to purchase a home, under the 100% financing from NFCU. So, obviously there will be no down payment, and they say PMI is not required (but there is an origination fee, which can be waived for a marginal interest rate increase). There is a funding fee of 1.75% of loan, but that can be rolled into the loan principle (max 101.75% LTV).

Again, my main question is what I'd need up-front if i were to purchase a home using this 100% financing loan from NFCU..

Closing costs? appraisal/inspection fees?

Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
Joiejoie

Re: NFCU 100% Financing

I am a long time NFCU member and now a first time homeowner, but not through NFCU. When I started my process 3 months ago, I applied for this program and was pre-qualified for it. But I received the estimate of closing costs form, my realtor and I started looking at the fine print for this program- first off, I had a mid range credit score, and the loan started at 5.5% for excellent scores and put me at 6.0%. Second, there was a 1.75% funding fee that can be paid at closing or rolled into the loan. This prompted me to look at other banks and I eventually found a loan where I paid 3% down and had a lower rate. Fortunately, I am set to pay $500 less a month than what NFCU quoted me.