cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NFCU mortgage on a NFCU bank-owned foreclosure?

tag
jaa97

NFCU mortgage on a NFCU bank-owned foreclosure?

I am just beginning the process for buying my first home and was wondering what everyone's experience with working with NFCU was?

I heard about their first-time homebuyers program with 0% downpayment and reasonable interest rates, and I am thinking this option may be best for me.

I found a condo I really like that is foreclosed at an amazing price and just found out that it is currently owned by... lo and behold... NFCU!

I'm 24 years old living in the DC metro area, my credit score is in the 669 - 704 range as of Monday (so relatively good), I make $60K+ a year and my DTI ratio is:

-Without rent included - 23.7%

-With current rent included - 40.6%

So...

1) What is your experience with working with NFCU for a mortgage? How long does the process take typically?

2) Do I have a shot at being approved for this loan of max $180k?

2) Would it be easier or more likely to be approved if I get my mortgage through them and then buy the house from them? Or does this not play a factor at all...

Thanks!

EDITED

05/2012: EX 715; EQ - ; TU -
01/20/2014: EX - ; EQ - 669; TU -
01/23/2014: EX - ; EQ: 692; TU -
Message 1 of 3
2 REPLIES 2
ShanetheMortgageMan
Super Contributor

Re: NFCU mortgage on a NFCU bank-owned foreclosure?

From what I've gathered if you are well qualified then NFCU's process is pretty easy.