Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need Your Thoughts on My Situation

tag
aceofspades25
Valued Member

Need Your Thoughts on My Situation

Hey All, 

I'm thinking (nervously, cold feet) about buying a house in the next 6-9 months but I know I have some hiccups to overcome and was hoping for some of your thoughts.  I am meeting with a real estate agent I know through a friend next week to talk over things with her but figured it couldn't hurt to get some opinions on where I may stand.

1. Credit - Clean, except for thinner file & new accounts in the past year year.  23% util, which I will sure to keep at 0% now that this is a thought.  No baddies, no collections, nothing of that sort.  Credit is about 730 across the board - I expect this to rise a bit once everything hits zero and my accounts continue to age.

2.  Income - this is the tricky part.  I'm a hair stylist, I get a W2 which includes (some) of the tips.  But when I say some, I mean very small amount.  Please save the lecture about my employer not reporting all tips.  Annually on a W2 my gross income is roughly 25k - I walk home every year with about another 25K in cash from tips/weddings/bonuses.  Most of this cash never makes it into a bank account, I use it for everyday spending, pay the dog walker with it, save the rest in a safe etc.  My mom, who has fantastic credit over 820 and grosses over 200K a year, is willing to be a co-signer for me on a mortage because of this - and I suspect I'll need her too.  

3. Salary is commision based, from my employer.  I switched from a hourly based pay to commision based pay in October, which has increased my gross income overrall.

4. Monthly debts: $485 car loan, 14 months in with PenFed PIF every month.  $71 a month in college student loans.  My DTI is low.