cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need a home within the next few months! 84K annually. Stable job. 12 months into a Chapter 13 BK.

tag
Lovelygal31
New Contributor

Need a home within the next few months! 84K annually. Stable job. 12 months into a Chapter 13 BK.

It'll be myself and my 2 children. I've been renting for almost 4 years, paying 2000 a month. My lease is ending in April next year and I want to be approved and find a home by then. I filed for Chapter 13 BK last October. It'll be a year next month. Never missed a payment and never late. I understand that I will have to get approval from the court.

This will be my first home. I'm not making payments on anything currently. My car is paid off, the only thing I have are student loans which is a few hundred a month. I pulled my FICO scores today and my TU Fico Mortgage Score 4 is 651, my EQ Fico Mortgage Score 5 is 611. EX is unable to give me a FICO score.

So my question is, obviously a FHA loan will probably be best. With my condition and scores, would I qualify for 3.5% down FHA loan?? Also, would I qualify for any 1st time home buyer grants?? 

Also, being in a Chapt 13 payment plan, I'm nervous on how this will go. If anyone has experienced obtaining a mortage loan while in a Chapt 13, please share you stories.

Also, any tips on improving my scores? Thanks!!

Current Score: TU 633
Goal Score: EQ 720 TU 720 EX 720

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Need a home within the next few months! 84K annually. Stable job. 12 months into a Chapter 13 BK

following

Message 2 of 6
scarfa21
Frequent Contributor

Re: Need a home within the next few months! 84K annually. Stable job. 12 months into a Chapter 13 BK