Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help buying our first home

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Need help buying our first home

OK this is my first time posting here so I am hoping someone can help. This might long cuz I have a lot of info.

First off we were talking to a finance lady that told us to pay off all of my hubbys bad credit. He had a Judgment that I got deleted so thats not a problem. He also had about $1000 of little things that I did pay off and out of the 5 items only 2 remain on his credit even though they do say paid. He has lots of medical bills that we will not be paying off. His score was around 576 before we payed the items off and before the other things were deleted. Not sure what it is now.

We ended up going with a different finance guy and he told us we needed to get new credit because the only current credit is our truck payment. We haven't had credit cards for years. So he said to get 2-3 secured credit cards and wait until the end of this month to see what his score ends up. I was only able to get one card so far. I tried to get 3 others and we know its bad to have your credit checked but were not having any luck.

So I am wanting suggestions on where we should go from here. I also want to know if you think we will still be able to get a loan by the $8000 tax credit ends?

I hope this all makes sence.

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
WannaHouse
Valued Contributor

Re: Need help buying our first home

# 1 - FIND A LENDER THAT DOES NOT REQUIRE EVERYTHING PAID.

You do need to pay any judgements and/or tax leins as well as any outstanding federal debts. (or be in a payment plan.)

You have quite a ways to climb with his scores, so to buy before the current program ends is pretty slim chances. They are talking about extending it tho. The house said it should be voted on before they go on vacation (Dec) and they felt confident it will continue into next year.