Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Employment and a Mortgage

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New Employment and a Mortgage

I just have a question concerning having a 2 year employment history. I have a 2 year employment history currently, with 1 year of work in my current field. I am currently looking for other opportunities because I simply could not afford to live on my own in this area at my current annual rate of pay, unless I crowded an apartment full of roomates. I've graduated from college: I don't want to do this again for a variety of reasons.

I am hoping to buy early next year (around March), but would I have to wait until late summer/early fall due to my employment? My current line of work has zero to do with what I studied and there is a few months worth of gap between my employment history and being a student. Will finding another job hurt the two years of consistent employment? Will it be possible to get a mortgage before the fall anyway (my current employment started last August)?

Several factors:

I have mortgage scores ranging from ~650 to 700 (a collection is on two reports, but I got it removed from the other, otherwise no negatives at all). My report should be much better next year, especially if I can get those collections removed from the other two reports (they will naturally fall off in early 2018), so hopefully they will all be in the 700s by then.