Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New First Time Buyer - Bad Credit Question

tag
ba6412
Established Member

New First Time Buyer - Bad Credit Question

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the forum, because I am interested in becoming a first time home buyer.  I have had a history of bad credit.  I currently make $45,000 / year salary.  I have been making the same amount for about 3 years and have job security.  I am paying about $300 per month for car payments, and I have my finances in order.  I do not have money to currently put down on a down payment on a home loan.

My questions are:

-What are my next steps?  I know that I need to apply for a home loan, however with bad credit, who should I go through to do this the right way?  Should I apply for an FHA home loan?

-Should I try and consolidate my debts to help my situation?  I don't even know how to do that or who to go to for that.

Please, any help would be greatly appreciated. 

Thank you,

Jimmy

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
DallasLoanGuy
Super Contributor

Re: New First Time Buyer - Bad Credit Question

@ba6412 wrote:

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the forum, because I am interested in becoming a first time home buyer.  I have had a history of bad credit.  I currently make $45,000 / year salary.  I have been making the same amount for about 3 years and have job security.  I am paying about $300 per month for car payments, and I have my finances in order.  I do not have money to currently put down on a down payment on a home loan.

My questions are:

-What are my next steps?  I know that I need to apply for a home loan, however with bad credit, define bad credit who should I go through to do this the right way?  Should I apply for an FHA home loan? maybe

-Should I try and consolidate my debts to help my situation?  not yet. I don't even know how to do that or who to go to for that.

Please, any help would be greatly appreciated. 

Thank you,

Jimmy

what have you got saved so far?

Retired Lender
Message 2 of 7