cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Guy Questions

tag
n83653

New Guy Questions

I have been working on rebuilding my credit for a few years now, and am hoping to buy my first home in the near future. I have OK credit, but no money saved up for a down payment or closing costs. I am wondering what price range I will be able to look at when I am able to get some money saved up. I am hoping for around $120k, but have no idea what I would be approved for.

My questions:

1. Should I just start saving/building my credit and apply in a year or two?

2. Is there something I can do to actually start the process now? 

3. How much is a reasonable amount to have in savings before talking in to a lender? 

Thanks for any help, this forum is awesome.

1. Credit.  Ex-732 TU-742 EQ-747; 2 Negatives (medical  for $34 and $40 from 2009), one 30 day late from 2008. 
  2. Income.  $55K
  3. Source of income.  Hourly employment, including bonuses and overtime
  4. Monthly debt payments.  $285 for auto loan, 3 years left. $70 credit cards.
  5. Employment. W2, 7 years at current job. 13 years in the industry.
  6. Assets/Reserves.  $0 saved, $1200 in 401K
  7. Location.  Kent County, Michigan
  8. Property.  Single family house
  9. Value.  $120,000?
  10. Occupancy.  Primary residence
  11. Transaction Type.  Purchase
Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
ShanetheMortgageMan
Super Contributor

Re: New Guy Questions

With your income & current debts, you could realistically qualify for up to a $200k sales price in the Grand Rapids, MI area.