Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Mortgage Question

tag
Sassy_Taurus
Frequent Contributor

New Mortgage Question

Hi all. Can anyone tell me if it's possible to get a mortgage for a home in a different city than where you work? I'm looking to apply for a mortgage next week. I was speaking with a realtor that specializes in the area that I want to move to. He told me that because I would be commuting to work than 9 times out of 10 I would not be approved. The drive would be about 1 hour 15 minutes. I'm in California.

I'm looking at cities further out because of the amount that I would most likely be approved for (180k- 200k). There's nothing in that range here in the city.
Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
dt3813
Regular Contributor

Re: New Mortgage Question

I'm not a mortgage professional, but I worked 2 hours from where I lived, not once, but three times when buying houses.  Currently I work 45 minutes from home.  I have a friend that works in New York and lives in Connecticut.  As a matter of fact, there are tons of people in Connecticut that work in NY.  I'm not quite sure why someone would say that and I don't know your situation.

Discharged Ch.13 6/24/15
Scores on discharge EQ669 TU650 EX654
current scores EQ776 TU775 EX758
WF $2500 WF $3000 Discover $6000 Target $1200 Amazon $5000 Jcrew $5250 Lowes $8300 Tjmaxx $5000 Cap1 $14750 venture $25500 jetBlue $21000 pier1 $5000 Amex $10000x2 AMEX $21,000 BoA$8000 CitiDC$8000

Message 2 of 10
ezdriver
Senior Contributor

@Sassy_Taurus wrote:
Hi all. Can anyone tell me if it's possible to get a mortgage for a home in a different city than where you work? I'm looking to apply for a mortgage next week. I was speaking with a realtor that specializes in the area that I want to move to. He told me that because I would be commuting to work than 9 times out of 10 I would not be approved. The drive would be about 1 hour 15 minutes. I'm in California.