Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New To Mortgage - Quick Question

tag
Delta22

New To Mortgage - Quick Question

Hello - 

What score model should I be looking at for my 3B as to what lenders would be looking at?  

Also, does lenders look at what's in your savings?  I am looking to pay down a little on some credit cards (Nothing to crazy) and wondering if I should wait till after the mortgage lender approves us for a loan, then pay off?  

My credit scores are showing over 730 for all 3 using the MyFico 3B

6 REPLIES 6
StartingOver10
Moderator Emerita

Re: New To Mortgage - Quick Question

Look at the scores that are labeled for morgage lending.

Read this link for detaits: http://ficoforums.myfico.com/t5/Mortgage-Loans/FICO-scores-used-for-mortgage-and-where-to-obtain-the...

Message 2 of 7
Delta22

Thank you, I just found that.  I'm new to the 3B site, and figuring that out.  

Now as to paying down a few cards nothing to crazy, or to keep my saved money in my savings alone till after we get approved for a new mortgage.... 

Basically I am unsure if the lender would look at my savings, if I touch my savings, then the money won't be showing as I would be using it to pay down a few cards a little.  

Unsure if this is making since, it's been a long long day already 

Message 3 of 7
StartingOver10
Moderator Emerita

The lender looks at your bank accounts, including savings.  I am assuming you have additional funds over and above the amount you need for down payment, closing costs, and pre-paids (and reserves if required).  

Message 4 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

@StartingOver10 wrote:

The lender looks at your bank accounts, including savings.  I am assuming you have additional funds over and above the amount you need for down payment, closing costs, and pre-paids (and reserves if required).