Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New construction experience **Going for it!!**

tag
Xistaben2
New Contributor

Re: New construction experience **Going for it!!**

I'll have to check into that.  I have a "low voltage" to schedule, which I am not sure if that is separate from electrical.  I got the actual prices for the data runs and they are taking people to the cleaners.

They install RJ11 (telephone jack) as standard to the family room, kitchen and master bedroom, additional telephone jacks are $90 each.  The kicker is, they use Cat5e cable for those runs and for those who don't know, Cat5e is your standard ethernet wire.  They charge $115 per data jack (RJ45) and none come standard.  There is maybe a $0.30 difference in the price of the connector and each run is $25 more for the same cable.  I emailed the guy back and told him that I work in IT (which I do) and I asked him what the $25 upcharge buys me?  What's to stop me from having him run the $90 telephone jacks to all the other bedrooms, keep the ones that come standard, then switch them all out after close saving close to $200 (literally $2 per termination and about 30 minutes worth of work)?

He hasn't emailed me back, but he is out of his mind.

Message 11 of 34
Chickenpotpie
Frequent Contributor

Nice! 

But if I can make one suggestion?  behind the walls, please no cat5e.  Go with cat6  or better to futureproof your house.  7 is whats available now, which automatically downgrades to 5 if needed.

Message 12 of 34
Xistaben2
New Contributor

I've thought about that as well - pretty sure Cat6 runs are like $145 per run which I can understand an increase there because Cat6 is a way more expensive wire than Cat5e, but $145 is still an overcharge.