Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to purchasing a house!

tag
SMikulski49
Regular Contributor

New to purchasing a house!

Hey guys, my fiancée and I are getting married in June. After that we would like to slowly start looking at houses and see if we like any neighborhoods in the area. We live in northeast PA. I am new to buying houses so I would appreciate any pointers in regards to credit profile, and anything else you might think is useful. We are not set to buy anything now, just looking to see what the options are.

Little about us: I am 32 and my fiancée is 28. The only debt we currently have is my car ($1500 left on it and will pay it off in the next two or three months) and her lease which she started few months ago for 3 years. Both of us started new jobs November of last year. My credit scores are all above 800 and hers are all between 770 and 800. I have a good mix of credit on my profile like car loans, personal loan, student loans, credit cards. She has Credit cards, student loans, and now a car lease. 

1. What should our credit profiles contain? What are banks looking for?
  2. How long should we be at our current jobs? Does it matter?
  3. How much money should we have saved up?
  4. What % should we have ready for down payment?
  5. Are there options to buy with no down payment?
  6. Any government programs?
  7. What should the ration of our mortgage be compared to our income?
  8. What are other common mistakes people do or what should we avoid?

Here are just a few questions I have but I’m sure there are other things to consider. I just want to start looking at future and get ready so I am not missing anything when we find our house and are ready to buy.

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: New to purchasing a house!